Our Governors are the strategic leaders of our school and
play a vital role in making sure all our children receive the best possible

Their three core functions are:

  • To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • To hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent

They also carry out a number of other important duties, which include:

  • Determining how the school’s budget is spent
  • The appointing and dismissing of staff
  • Hearing appeals and grievances
  • Forming policy on the school’s curriculum
  • Setting standards for pupils’ behaviour
  • Making sure school buildings are welcoming and safe
  • Setting and monitoring policies

The full Governing Body meets once each term, and there are two main committees to consider different aspects of the school in detail. Our committees are:

The Standards Committee whose main brief are standards and curriculum;

The Finance Committee which focuses on finance, premises and personnel matters.

There are other committees such as the Pay and Performance Committee who meet during the Autumn Term. There are also a number of other committees that meet, if required, to consider pupil discipline, complaints and staffing matters.

Chair of Governors –   Jenni Ogden ( Co-opted Governor Term of office 21/06/21 – 20/06/25)

Head Teacher – Nicola Dowling (Start date 01.09.23)

Staff Governor – Lindsey Trafford-Haigh ( Term of office 22/11/22 – 21/11/26)

Parent Governors –  Amy Harris ( Term of Office 03/03/22 – 02/03/26)

Jordan Crowther ( Term of Office 03/03/22 – 02/03/26)

LA Governor and Vice Chair –  Nicholas Hebson ( Term of Office 27/04/21 – 26/04/25 ).

Co opted Governors –

Gerry Devine (Term of office 04/11/20 – 03/11/24)

Rebecca Senior (Term of office 21/06/21 – 20/06/25)

Ashley Booth (Term of office 09/11/23 – 08/11/27)


Governor declarations

Governors must declare any relevant business and pecuniary interests including:

  • governance roles in other educational institutions;
  • any material interests arising from relationships between governors or relationships between governors and school staff (including spouses, partners and close relatives).

Our governors have made the following declarations on their annual register of interests.  The governors at our school, are also asked at the beginning of every meeting held to declare if they have an interest pertaining to the agenda items to be discussed at that meeting.

Annual Declarations

Chair of Governors: Jenni Ogden declared she is Headteacher at Wolverham Primary school  09/11/2023

Head Teacher: Nicola Dowling declared she is Head teacher at Highfield Primary school  09/11/2023

Staff Governor: :Lindsey Trafford-Haigh  None declared  09/11/2023

Parent Governors: Amy Harris – None declared  09/11/2023

Jordan Crowther – None declared 09/11/2023

LA Governor : – Nicholas Hebson, declared that he is a school governor at Little Sutton Primary school Primary School 09/11/2023

Co opted Governors: – 

Ashley Booth declared he is a teacher at Wolverham primary school  09/11/2023

Rebecca Senior declared she is a teacher at St Bernard’s Primary school 09/11/2023

Gerry Devine: None declared 09/11/2023


Governor attendance 2022-2023

Governors Attendance 2019 -2020

Governors Attendance 2018-2019